Australian Innovation

Bendigo Inventor Awards

The inaugural Bendigo Inventor Awards are not only capturing the attention of Australian innovators they have also garnered support from Agricultural Scientist Chris Russell best known for his judging role on the ABC’s New Inventor’s program.

Chairman of the Bendigo Inventor Awards Committee Herbert Hermens said it was fantastic to have someone of Chris Russell’s calibre involved in the inaugural awards.

“Chris recently visited Bendigo and facilitated a workshop to impart some of his vast knowledge to our judging panel – his experience and his advice was really valuable and will no doubt assist the panel with our deliberations in the future

“He will also return to Bendigo for the announcement of the winners of this year’s awards which will take place at an Exhibition and Awards night at the Bendigo Town Hall on September 3, 2010.  

“The Exhibition and Awards Night is very important because venture capitalists, mentors and associated organisations have been invited to attend.  

“This will provide important connections for those who have entered the awards because it will introduce them to available funding sources and mentors so they can continue to develop their projects,” said Cr Cox.

City of Greater Bendigo Eaglehawk Ward Cr Peter Cox said the Greater Bendigo municipality has a significant record when it comes to innovation and invention.

“The aim of the awards is to encourage practical ideas and innovations via a competitive process that will create local employment opportunities and promote Bendigo as a “thinking city”.

“There is no age limit so that we can inspire and assist a diverse mix of individuals to develop a unique product or service they have created or have an idea for,” said Cr Cox.

There are three Award categories - Rising, Established and Inventor of the Year.

The ‘Rising’ category features a $5,000 cash prize for the winner and is for those not yet to market.  The ‘Established’ category is for those currently trading in the market and also carries a of $5,000 cash prize for the winner.

The $10,000 Inventor of the year is for the overall best invention/innovation and will be decided from the total pool of applications received for the 2010 Awards.

Applications close on July 30, 2010 and can be downloaded from or picked up from City of Greater Bendigo’s Lyttleton Terrace office and Workspace Australia in Eaglehawk.

Judging for the event will be conducted by a select panel in confidence.  Further information on the awards is available by contacting Peter Jeffrey on 54346241.

Media Inquiries: Ros Manning 54346114

No comments
Please login to leave a comment
publish in twitterbookmark at facebook.combookmark at linkedinbookmark at youtuberss
Solutions for Success